Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch Chia

Is the Chia Pet commercial stuck in your head too? You’re welcome.

Believe it or not, chia seeds have quite the history. They were originally domesticated by people in Mexico, Central America and some parts of South America as early as 2600 BC (source). Despite their size, they’re nutritional powerhouses. According to the book Born to Run, the Tarahumara’s of Mexico use chia seeds to fuel their long runs. So this means that the paste you make when you add water to chia seeds, is indicative of the seeds hydration abilities. And to think we wasted them on Chia Head!

So why is this important?

I went to Bikram Yoga today. Ever been? Let’s just say it’s 90 minutes of heated torture….but when it’s over, I always feel amazing. Unfortunately, the heat and I do not get along unless said heat is accompanied by the ocean and a large pitcher of margaritas. So, long story short I needed 2 things:

  1. hydration during my work out
  2. something to help me recover

Enter- the chia seed. During my workout, I added a tablespoon to my water bottle. If you want to give it a try- consider this; do you like tapioca? If not, you won’t enjoy the texture a tablespoon of chia seeds adds to your water. If you do, well then, go ahead and pour some in!

Post workout, my body needed some serious attention, so I made a green smoothie. Go ahead and try one. It’s a great way to sneak in some greens, and you can mask the taste by adding fruit.  Here’s my basic recipe:

Basic Green Smoothie

  • 1 cup Vanilla Almond Milk
  • 2-3 cups greens (I used Kale. If you’re unsure about the flavor, start with spinach) ** helpful hint- de-vein your greens first!**
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 TBSP chia seeds
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen berries (unsweetened)
  • Sweetener to taste (I used agave syrup because we had it today)

Add everything, in the order listed, to your blender and blend! It’s helpful to add the frozen ingredients last because by doing that, you give them a base to mix into and can usually avoid clogging the blender’s base and blade.

Which Chia Pet was your favorite?

One thought on “Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch Chia

Leave a comment-I love to hear from you!

