Lemon Rosemary Roasted Chicken

I’m back, and I’ve learned a thing or two.

First, the MTELs are no joke; the GREs were a breeze in comparison.

Second, I will never again attempt to take all of them in a single day. Let’s face it, by hour 6 yesterday, my brain was like oatmeal and I was nowhere near the finish line. Fortunately, I can take them again.

Unfortunately, while I was studying for the tests, someone was feeling a little neglected:

Let’s pretend there’s no clutter in that shot.

Did you notice the peanut butter and wine? Yes, that was our dinner the night before my test. The dinner of champions, and college freshman well thought out brain food if I do say so myself.

I had to do something fabulous to make up for that obvious disaster, so what did I do? I made something Corey loves, and I never make: chicken.

Chicken is a lean protein. It’s a staple of healthy, omnivorous diets, and I consider myself a healthy omnivore at the moment. So, why do I never make it for dinner? The answer’s simple:

I Hate Chicken.

I hate it with a passion.

I’m sorry if I offended any chicken lovers out there, but the truth is, we all have our things and this is mine. Do you really dislike a food?

Despite my feelings towards chicken, I actually know a great recipe for roasting. The best part about it, is that it’s so simple! Read on for more:

Lemon-Rosemary Roasted Chicken
The damage? Well, this one depends on the cut of meat you choose and whether you eat the skin. If you’d like some more information, click here

**please note that this bird is not trussed, although it’s preferable to do so if you have cooking twine. Next time, I’ll post a tutorial.**

Ingredients
One 4-4.5lb whole chicken
1 small yellow onion
1 lemon
1 head of garlic
1 TBSP butter (or canola oil)
1/2 TBSP sea salt (or to taste)
1 tsp freshly ground pepper (or to taste)
1-2 TBSP Rosemary

Directions
Before you begin, lower your oven rack to the bottom half, just below the middle and preheat the oven to 475 degrees.

  • Start with a completely defrosted chicken, remove giblet bag and extra fat, skin, or feathers. Wash with cool water and pat dry. Place the chicken on a greased (cooking spray works well) rack in a roasting pan.
  • Using 1/2 TBSP softened butter, distribute it between the skin and the meat of the bird. Rub the remaining 1/2 TBSP on the skin.
  • Season the cavity and outside with salt, pepper, and half the rosemary and set aside.
  • Peel your garlic and onion, quarter the onion.
  • Using the palm of your hand and a little pressure, roll the lemon on a hard surface to release juices.  Leaving peel on, cut in half, thinly slicing one of the halves.
  • Stuff the cavity of the bird with the garlic, quartered onion and 1 half of the lemon.
  • Sprinkle the remaining rosemary over the top of the bird and place the thinly sliced lemon halves on top.
  • Place the chicken in the oven, set to 475 degrees for 20-25 minutes
  • After 20-25 minutes, decrease the heat to 400 degrees and cook until the temperature of the thickest part of the chicken reaches 160-165 degrees. Depending on your oven, this should take an additional 35-45 minutes.
  • Remove from oven, cover with foil, and let rest for 10-15 minutes before serving

4 thoughts on “Lemon Rosemary Roasted Chicken

  1. Pingback: Dad’s Pumpkin Bread | A Cook's Nook

  2. That looks delicious, Jill! Do you think I could do it without a roasting pan? My enthusiasm for cooking is not equal to the amount of cookware and tools I have! Also, I don’t blame you for the peanut butter dinner…tonight I had pasta noodles with parmesan cheese! Sorry the exams didn’t go as planned- you’ll be ready next time!

    • Thanks- Corey was a fan. Do you have a brownie pan? You can use that and it’ll work just as well. If you don’t want the chicken to sit in its juices, you can make a bed of root vegetables and cook it on top of them (bonus- you get a one pot meal)

      Sounds like you two are on our wavelength lately. There’s no shame in pasta and parm. Don’t be fooled, we either dine on that or cereal most nights!

      Hope all is well :)

Leave a comment-I love to hear from you!

