Dad’s Pumpkin Bread

Don’t mind the glaze. It might look a little funky, but I assure you, it tastes great. You see, after I destroyed the kitchen making my dad’s pumpkin bread, I saw the stack of dishes waiting to be washed…and suddenly felt too lazy to whip out the food processor and make a proper glaze.

Instead, I had the genius idea to try to find a way to make glaze sans the mess. Let’s just say it wasn’t exactly a roaring success. I’d recommend using a blender, electric beater or a food processor if you have one.

I digress, there was a story here-

It went a little like this: every year, around September, we have one cold day and I get myself in a tizzy. I love fall. I love apple picking, the crisp air, and everything pumpkin. Then, around the end of November, something funny  happens; I lose my mojo.

I think it has something to do with eating Turkey on Thanksgiving. I have a bit of an aversion to poultry.

Luckily, I’m still excited about the season, and I have a new challenge ahead of me to keep me interested. Which means that this bread is kind of special. It’s one of the last recipes featuring gluten that you’ll see on this site for a while, and it was good.

Damn good. It was so good that I was a little sad to slice it up and make it a little more portable. It did look pretty sitting on the glass dish, but, it wouldn’t survive tomorrow’s tour of Massachusetts.

Someone else really wanted a piece;

and there’s a small chance he got one.

To those of you stateside- have a happy and safe Thanksgiving!

Dad’s Pumpkin Bread
* I made a few alterations to lower the calorie count. My adjustments are bolded next to the original recipe values*

Ingredients
for the bread:

  • 2 cups pumpkin purée
  • 4 eggs or 1 cup egg substitute (2 egg whites and 2 whole eggs)
  • 1 cup vegetable oil (3/4 cup vegetable oil)
  • 2/3 cup sour Skim milk ( substitute water if desired) (2/3 cup unsweetened almond milk)
  • 2 cups white sugar (1 cup white sugar)
  • 1 cup Brown Sugar
  • 3 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt or a little less
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • ½ – 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon Allspice
  • 1 tsp vanilla

for the glaze:

  • 2 teaspoons unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/8 – 1/4 cup cream cheese (not whipped)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup powdered sugar

Directions
For fresh pumpkin purée:

  • Cut a 3-4 lb. sugar or pie pumpkin in half and remove seeds and stringy material.
  • Cut pumpkin into wedges and place in a microwave safe container and cover.
  •  Microwave on high for ~16 minutes – skin will come right off so don’t bother peeling the pumpkin before hand.

For the batter:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour loaf 2 9X5 pans.

  • In a large bowl, mix together pumpkin purée, eggs, oil, milk and sugar until well blended. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt and all spices. Stir the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until just blended. Pour into the prepared pans.
  • Bake for about 1 hour and 15 minutes in the preheated oven. Loaves are done when toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

For the glaze
Place all ingredients in a blender/food processor and pulse until smooth. Transfer to a plastic bag, cut the tip of one corner off and drizzle glaze over cooled bread.

I attempted to make the glaze in the plastic bag by mashing all the ingredients together. As you can see, the results were less than stellar, although it does work in a pinch.

3 thoughts on “Dad’s Pumpkin Bread

  1. Pingback: Cranberry Orange Crumble | A Cook's Nook

  2. The cake looks delicious and I like your calorie lowering substitutions! Your doggie is SO cute! How do you resist? I’d have a hard time and give him/her a slice every time! Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a comment-I love to hear from you!

