Cran-Orange Biscotti

What happens during this time of year? One minute I’m getting ready for Thanksgiving and Christmas seems like it’s miles away. The next minute I’m doing something crazy, like participating in a cookie swap.

That’s right, it’s finally here: The first Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap, courtesy of Lindsay at Love & Olive Oil and Julie from The Little Kitchen!

This was my first blogger event and I have to say, I loved every minute. Between plotting what to make (has to hold together, ship well, and stay fresh for at least a week), and waiting to see what would arrive on my doorstep; I was thrilled.

Now, of course, when I saw the packages on my door step, I just ripped into them and didn’t think about documenting it until it was too late (sorry)! So you’ll have to settle for more words. Exciting, no?

First up, I want to thank Bunky Cooks for sending me a batch of curry coriander shorties. These were definitely “adult cookies” as the folks at Bunky Cooks call them, but they were also a welcome change of pace from all the sugar I’ve been inhaling!  These were inventive little bites, with perfect short bread texture, and I can’t decide if they’re more appetizer or dessert. Needless to say, they’re already gone!

So are the homemade Oreos that I received. When I told my husband that these babies came, he rushed home. Literally. I wish I could attribute them to someone, but unfortunately, I don’t have the blog name. Out of respect for privacy, I’m not going to publish the name of the kind woman who baked them, but if you’re reading, please contact me so I can give credit where it’s due!

For my part, I whipped up some cranberry orange biscotti, thanks to Self.  I hide it, but the Italian in me comes out during this season. Biscotti satisfies all of my cookie swap criterion (has to hold together, ship well, and stay fresh for at least a week); and, it’s awesome.

It’s also dunkable :)

Have you made biscotti before? It’s not nearly as difficult as it looks- give it a try:

Ingredients
Adopted from: Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 whole egg
  • 3 tablespoons light butter
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries (I used 1 full cup)
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds (I used 1 full cup)
  • 1/3 cup shelled pistachios (omitted)
  • Grated zest of 1 lemon (used zest of 1/2 orange instead)
  • 1 tablespoon anise seeds
  • 2 TBSP orange juice (my addition)

Directions

Heat oven to 350°. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Combine flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder and salt in the bowl of a stand mixer. Whisk with a fork to mix. Add egg whites, egg and butter; mix on medium until a loose dough forms, about 1 minute. Stir in cranberries, nuts, zest and anise seeds; mix until incorporated, about 15 seconds. Transfer dough to baking sheet. Coat hands with cooking spray; form dough into a long, flat log, about 14 inches long by 4 inches wide. Bake until outside of log is firm and browned, about 25 minutes. Remove from oven; cool 10 minutes. Cut loaf into 1/4-inch-thick slices; arrange on 2 baking sheets, return to oven and bake until lightly toasted, about 12 minutes. Cool. Store in an airtight container for up to 2 weeks

6 thoughts on “Cran-Orange Biscotti

  1. Thank you for the mention! I am glad you enjoyed the “cookies”. They are really tasty and much more of an appetizer type of treat than a dessert. That is why we like them so much.

    • It was a lot of fun and I would definitely do it again. I think there was a small showing from folks outside the states, hopefully that will increase next year. Maybe it’ll be you?

Leave a comment-I love to hear from you!

