Bakery Style Peanut Butter Cookies

It’s true.

I have a peanut butter problem.

I can’t stop at one scoop. I can’t stop at two. It’s so bad that I have the replace the jar on my desk on  a weekly monthly basis.

That’s right. I keep a jar ON my desk. The way I figure it, this is a good thing. I have a love/hate relationship with meat, and by eating peanut butter, I get protein and good fats. Ergo, my peanut butter habit is really healthy.

What’s so great about Peanut Butter? Well, one serving contains a healthy dose of monounsaturated fat (like olive oil), 200 mg of potassium (making it a great post workout snack), protein, some fiber, and a few vitamins and minerals.

But that wasn’t good enough for me. No, I had to go and decimate all the wonderful qualities of peanut butter, with sugar and eggs. That’s right, I made cookies, the easiest ever in fact.

While I was QA-ing the dough, I thought about reigning in my addiction. That silly thought died on the spot when I heard that the price of peanut butter was going to increase significantly due to a poor crop season. I had just used the last of my jar!

Must     –     Not     –     Panic

I suddenly see myself stocking up in the near future. Or making my own if I can find a place that sells decent canning jars. Any suggestions?

Bakery Style Peanut Butter Cookies 
** This recipe developed as a result of a mistake I made while working at a bakery in high school. Turns out, it wasn’t a mistake, lots of places use this basic recipe!


Oven setting & bake time: 375 degrees, 10-12 minutes
The damage: this recipe makes 12 large cookies at 197 calories per cookie.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of peanut butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup of sugar (I’ll experiment with a less processed variety and update if results are good)

Directions: Measure your peanut butter (for a great, no mess tutorial, click here to visit Bites + Bowls) and add it to a mixing bowl. Add your sugar and egg and cream together until well incorporated.

Using a table-spoon, drop heaping spoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet. If you have a parchment or silicon mat, feel free to use it here. Take a fork and press down on the cookie dough balls, once horizontally and once vertically making a hash pattern (#). Sprinkle with extra sugar and place in an oven preheated to 375 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

14 thoughts on “Bakery Style Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Pingback: Mouth Watering Mondays | Noshing With The Nolands

  2. Pingback: Mouth Watering Mondays | | Noshing With The NolandsNoshing With The Nolands

  3. Pingback: Peanut Butter Fudge | A Cook's Nook

  4. Pingback: The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap | A Cook's Nook

    • isn’t it? I originally tried it out at a bakery and the owner wasn’t thrilled, but since then a few of my waitress friends have confirmed that they use it because the results are better and more cost effective than recipes that call for flour and butter.

      I like your fettuccine recipe & will be making it this winter!

Leave a comment-I love to hear from you!

