Cranberry Orange Crumble

A few weeks ago I alluded to a new personal project and if you’ve been following me on Facebook, you probably already know that it is:

Gluten free cooking.

While I do love a challenge, I can’t say that I’m all that excited this time. Can you honestly tell me that there is anything better than freshly baked, crusty bread, olive oil and a glass of wine?

can cranberries compete?

I didn’t think so. This means that I’ll have to perfect a gluten-free version. I smell a New Year’s resolution!

Lofty goals aside, I’m starting small. Instead of trying to jump into the world of gluten-free baking, I chose to try a simple fruit crumble. After all, gluten is the thing that gives baked goods the wonderful consistency, without it, well, things crumble. You know, because there’s no glue-ton (← super lame)

So I took the easy way out. I made a cranberry crumble.

That’s right; a crumble. As in, if the dessert falls apart, but tastes good, I can still call it a success. In fact, I’ll call it rustic.

This is one rustic crumble.

For my first baking attempt, I tried Bob’s Red Mill GF All Purpose Flour. I assumed it would be easier than coming up with my own mix and provide a starting point for future baking attempts.

(source)

Well, it definitely gave me a starting point and unfortunately, I wasn’t a huge fan. I believe the first ingredient is garbanzo bean flour, and boy can you pick that flavor out of the batter.

That said, the cooked version was pretty tasty! The flavor of the raw batter wasn’t the best indicator of post-baked taste and it certainly didn’t stop me from polishing off my bowl.

Cranberry Orange Crumble

Ingredients:
Inspired by: The Smitten Kitchen
for the filling:

  • 1 1/2 cups (12 oz) fresh, whole cranberries
  • 1 cup rhubarb
  • juice of 1/2 orange
  • 2-3 tsp orange zest
  • 3/4 – 1 cup sugar (I like the tartness of cranberries and only used 3/4 of a cup. To increase sweetness, increase the amount of sugar used)
  • 3 Tbsp cornstarch
  • dash of salt

for the crumble:

  • 1 1/2 cups Bob’s Red Mill GF All Purpose Flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3 TBSP sugar
  • 2 TBSP maple syrup
  • juice of 1/2 orange
  • 1 stick of butter

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees and lightly spray a 9×9 pan with cooking spray
  • wash rhubarb and slice into 1/4-1/2 inch pieces
  • wash cranberries and add to a mixing bowl
  • combine all ingredients for the filling (Tip: save clean up time-this can be done in the same pan in which you plan to cook the crumble)
  • Now, in a separate bowl, combine the ingredients for the crumble. Like the name suggests, this should form a loose, crumbly dough.
  • transfer berry mixture to baking pan and top with crumble dough
  • cook at 375 for 30-45 minutes, or until top is golden and the cranberries are bursting.
3 thoughts on “Cranberry Orange Crumble

Leave a comment-I love to hear from you!

