Rancher’s Pie

Taking a week (or two!) off from work and blogging was wonderful! I had a great time celebrating Christmas and New Years (also Corey and my 3rd anniversary), I tried out new strength programs, and even re-finished a piece of furniture.

Do you know what I didn’t do?

I.Didn’t.Cook. At. All.

Who in their right mind takes a vacation, and doesn’t pack on some holiday insulation? Corey and I. What can I say? We’re obscenely lazy and it’s glorious.

After a week of smoothies and cereal, we decided that we needed to eat real food, and tonight we settled on a comfort dish that I like to call Rancher’s Pie.

Why do you ask? (You did ask, right?) Well, because I didn’t use lamb and last I checked; Shepards raise sheep and Ranchers raise cattle.

Enjoy!

Rancher’s Pie

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 sweet yellow onion
  • 1 large carrot
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 Tbsp dried rosemary
  • 1 Tbsp dried parsley
  • 1 Tbsp tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 can creamed corn (14 and 3/4 oz works well)
  • 1 – 2 cups frozen corn
  • 4 large russet potatoes
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup milk
  • 3 Tbsp butter
  • salt and pepper

Directions
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
Peel and dice the onion and carrot, and along with the meat, add to a large pan, coated with cooking spray or olive oil, over medium high heat. Saute until meat is browned. This should take 8-10 minutes.

Once meat is browned, drain and return to heat. Add your broth, tomato paste, rosemary, parsley and season with salt and pepper. Let simmer until the mixture reduces and thickens. This took me about 5 minutes.

While cooking your beef mixture, peel and dice your potatoes into 1 inch pieces. Place potato pieces into a pot of boiling water and cook until soften, testing periodically for doness.

When the potatoes are done, drain, and return to pan (do not return to the stove). Add the sour cream, milk, butter, salt and pepper to the potatoes and mash.

To assemble the pie, layer in a deep baking dish in the following order: meat mixture, creamed corn, frozen corn, mashed potatoes. Garnish with paprika if desired. Place it in your preheated oven for 30-40 minutes.

7 thoughts on “Rancher’s Pie

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Fudge | A Cook's Nook

  2. Rancher; beef. I get it and it makes total sense. I also love it. This is one of our family’s comfort food go-to dinners. I love your take on it though, with the vegetables cooked into the beef.

Leave a comment-I love to hear from you!